Team Oberdeck

Lucky

I know it’s popular these days for Stay At Home Moms to try and justify themselves by talking all the time about how it is to juggle the day-to-day.  They’re right.  Most moms are either dealing with one baby or multiple kiddos if they’re taking time off work, and it is a LOT of work.

I’ve got a pretty sweet set up around here.  It’s not like I’m reading on the patio in the sun all day – I do seriously miss Adult Interaction sometimes and often wonder if I will ever wear heels again….not to mention the strain it puts on me to constantly come up with reasonable answers to, “WHY???”

I wouldn’t trade this for anything.  I know that eventually I’ll go back to an office-type job – someday – when the timing is right.  While I’m looking forward to it, I’m not anxious for that time to get here.  I love my mornings & afternoons with my girl.  I love exploring the world through her eyes.  While I sometimes struggle to come up with activities to stimulate & exhaust her, when we get something going, it’s awesome to watch her run with a project.  She’s creative and impetuous and dramatic.  She’s got a zeal for the minutiae of daily life that inspires me.  “Oh My Goodness, Mama!  That bird caught a worm!  Yay, Birdie!”  Who doesn’t smile at that enthusiasm?  I’ll admit – I do reach for 30 minutes of TV a few times a week so that I can “escape”, but 30 minutes out of a day is something I can live with happily.

I’m also thankful to live right at the heart of a city.  There are SO many opportunities for us, just minutes from our doorstep.  Last year we caught a great deal on a membership to Discovery World – affectionately known as the Fish Museum in our house – and we get there every couple of weeks for a day.  This last visit was on such a gorgeous day, we added a short walk outside to all the nearby fountains.  We sacrificed seeing the actual fish at the fish museum, but no big deal.  We spent the whole day splashing – inside and out – and it was marvelous.

I’ve said it before, but I am a very lucky girl.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was published on July 5, 2012 at 5:15 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

