Team Oberdeck

My Birthday

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By the time we get through Evelyn’s birthday, I’m just about fed up with them.

Just in time for my own.  Ha!

This year, Andrew sort-of surprised me with a really awesome experience – sailing on the S/V Denis Sullivan.  We’ve been wanting to do this since we first moved to Milwaukee.  It didn’t disappoint.  I was a bit wary when I saw how many people went on as passengers, but it was super serene and peaceful.  I really needed that.  It was a cloudy day – a little breeze – perfect for being out on the water.  I think Andrew was worried that I wasn’t enjoying myself enough because I didn’t ask 1,000 questions.  He forgets that I’m not him 🙂  I loved the tranquility of sailing on the water – the way the huge boat plowed through the water – and even the air show didn’t cause enough commotion to ruin that for me.

We did pull our own weight, by the way.  I helped to hoist the sails (which really did take some effort!!) and Evelyn got to help steer the boat.  Our captain was exactly as a sailboat captain should be – laid back, witty, a little goofy, and completely capable when it counts (like trying to parallel park a giant boat next to a museum).  I’d highly recommend it to anyone.

Happy birthday to me!

This entry was published on August 30, 2012 at 7:15 am and is filed under Ramblings, Special Occasions. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

