Team Oberdeck

Apples

I neglected to mention that we have some fruit trees in our yards that are actually producing fruit.  I grew up with fruit trees and I know how temperamental they can be – we’ll see how long we can keep them going 🙂  We have two apples and one pear tree and they are quite lovely.  One apple needs some serious help.  It seems to be a left-over from when the area was an orchard, many many years ago.  It’s been badly pruned and has lots of terrible scars, but we got some tasty fruit.

We all had fun picking the apples.  I had even more fun eating the fritters I made with the first few.  Curses to the Pioneer Woman for making a recipe so easy and delicious that I will be forced to fry these things over and over in the years to come.  Yumtastic.  I know have a few colanders full of apples on my counter waiting for the next application…..I am craving apple pie, but I have a feeling they’ll end up in some lovely crock pot applesauce.  Yum.

This entry was published on September 3, 2013 at 5:47 am and is filed under Garden. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Apples

  1. Rosanna on said:

    I make apple butter in my crockpot. I imagine it’s the same process as making applesauce, maybe cooked down a little longer? Enjoy your apples!

Leave a Reply

