Team Oberdeck

Autumn Eats.

I’m still sorting my way through photos of Claire’s baptism and the surrounding events.  I’m also still accepting photos….hint hint…..  😉  If you’ve got some gems (or even just ones that are in focus) feel free to pass them along.  I took about four pictures over the whole weekend, so I’m completely at your mercy.  Thanks to those that have already emptied files onto my desktop – you are awesome.

Instead, today you get a recipe.  This is one of my favorite autumn recipes and is about the only way I can get Andrew to eat a squash.  They just aren’t his favorite things, and I respect that.  Still, put some sausage in anything and it’s about certain he’ll eat it.  I don’t measure and I don’t prep ahead….which is why I don’t bake well…..but these are pretty quick and super easy.

Half and empty your squash of their guts.  Pretty sure you can treat them like pumpkin seeds and all….but I don’t have time for all that.  Place them cut-side-down in about an inch of water, cover with saran wrap, and microwave for 10-12 minutes (until they’re soft enough to eat).

Meanwhile, cook up a pound of sausage.  My favorite is good ol’ Jimmy Dean sausage in the freezer section of the supermarket, cooked until it’s practically burnt, nice and crispy and in as small of pieces as I can manage.  When it’s crunchy, remove it and almost all of the drippings.

Saute up a few veggies in the drippings.  This time I used 2 carrots, 2 celery stalks, some garlic, a bell pepper, and some mushrooms.  You can use anything you want.  Seriously.  Cook them a few minutes, until they’re tender enough to taste good to you.  Then mix your sausage back in.  I also add in a grain, usually, as I almost always have some leftover in my fridge.  This time it was brown rice – I’ve also used leftover corn bread and barley in the past.  All were yummy.  Toss the veggies, sausage, and grains together and heat through, then spoon into your squash.  Top with cheese.  Trust me.  Just use the cheese.  (I like Mozz for this)Halloween.10292013 (16)

Pop these bad boys into a casserole dish and back at 350 for 20 minutes or so, until the cheese is melty-gooey-yummy.  Or broil them.  Whatevs.  Serve it up.

I can only eat a half of a squash this way.  Andrew eats a whole one.  It’s pretty tasty and filling, a warm and cozy kinda of food that isn’t all that bad for you (especially if you make a healthier sausage selection than me…like turkey sausage or veggie sausage).  It’s also easy to keep gluten free.

Claire likes her squash.  That’s my girl!Halloween.10292013 (18)

Enjoy 🙂

This entry was published on November 5, 2013 at 5:38 am and is filed under Food. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

