Team Oberdeck

Fairy Gardening

I know that everywhere I’ve lived in the past is currently plunged neck-deep in snow and experiencing 20-30 degree weather…..which is pretty much a heat wave from earlier this year.  I’ve been curbing my posting of pics outside in deference to such an incredibly harsh winter.  But….this one is a post about “winter” in the PacNW.  Stop reading now if it’s going to make you angry.  Evelyn and I spent one of Claire’s morning naps last week starting a Fairy Garden.  I’m pretty excited about it.  It’s in a new flower bed that we’re creating after a dirt-dump-debacle *see below* and will – hopefully – boast a plethora of Lilies of the Valley later this spring.

Other than that, just a few pics of what’s happening outside, because I still can’t believe that the bulbs are coming up in winter.  I don’t know that I’ll ever wrap my brain around that one.  I’m told we could still drop into a cold snap and everything could die…..so crossing my fingers that doesn’t happen.

*Dirt Debacle:  We have a lot of garden bed space at our new home, and it all needs regular maintenance due to the grade of the hillside where we’re situated.  I went about the business of ordering mulch to top off the beds – weed control, aesthetics, etc – and thought I was getting this nice, pretty bark mulch.  Nope.  Not so much.  I wound up with mulch that a few pieces of bark, but was mostly compost.  Then, adding insult to injury, it arrived in a giant dump truck that was never going to fit down my Seattle Sized driveway in a million years.  We wound up with 6 cubic yards of steaming dirt dumped at the junction of our sidewalk and driveway.  Ugh.  Andrew, being the hero that he is, spent the next 36 hours hauling it away to various beds.  I helped when I could, but mostly I just kept the kids alive and out of the way.  What a learning experience!  But – the dirt was fun for the girls, it does make the yard look much prettier, and while it’s not as pretty as the bark mulch, it is much healthier.  We’re going with the old “It’s an investment in the health of our yard” justification.  Yeah. iPhone01172014.387

This entry was published on February 4, 2014 at 7:32 pm and is filed under Garden, Making Things, Seattle Stuff. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

